top of page
  • Writer's pictureJacqueline Giordano

Ice and Fire Flower Free Pattern 

Updated: Mar 7, 2020

I have to say that I am pretty good at looking at a picture and free-hand crocheting it. What I am NOT good at is remembering exactly HOW I did it, and writing it down! I am highly envious of crocheters that are able to design patterns at will.

However, I'm not going to let this stop me. I'm giving it a go. I thought I'd keep it simple. I'm always on the look-out for patterns for small items because they always sell well at craft shows. I picked the flowers because Super Mario was a big part of my youth. I recently bought my son a Wii console and a Super Mario All-stars game. It is incredibly gratifying to share those games with him. Also the characters are so much fun to crochet.

So without further ado, this is my very first crochet pattern!

I used an F hook and Redheart Supersaver yarn.

Most of you know your short-forms so I won't explain unless you ask me to in the comments.

Flower Face

1. Ch 5, sc in 2nd ch from hook, sc in next 2sc, 3 sc in last st, working on the opposite side of the row sc in next 2 st, 2sc in next st, join and turn (10)

2. Ch 1, sc in 1st st, 2sc in next st, 1sc in next 2st, 2sc in next st, 1sc in next st, 2sc in next st, 1sc in next 2sts, 2sc in next st, join and fasten off (14)

If you are more visual like me, here is a chart I drew up

3. Join new colour with a slip st in one marked centre point. Keep your 2 centre-points (cp from here on) marked. This will make it a lot easier on you.

1 sc, 2sc in next st, 1sc in next 5 st, 2sc in next st, sc in the cp, 2sc in next st, sc in next 5 st, 2sc in next st, join and turn (20)

4. Ch 1, sc in 1st st, 2sc in next st, sc in next 7 st, 2sc in next st, sc in cp, 2sc in next st, sc in next 7 st, 2sc in next st, join and fasten off. (24)

5. Join new colour in any cp, sc, 2sc in next st twice, sc in next 7 st, 2sc in next st twice, sc in cp, 2sc in next st twice, sc in next 7 st, 2sc next st twice, join. (32) I didn't turn here but maybe I should have. Please leave input in the comments.

6. Sc in each st around and fasten off. Now is a good time to add your eyes. I used safety eyes with the fire flower and embroidered eyes for the ice. Remember, kids under 3 shouldn't have toys with safety eyes just in case.

UPDATE: Since I first posted this I added a round 7. It poofs up the flower a bit.

Flower Back

Follow instructions for face but only use one colour without fastening off. At the end fasten off and leave a long tail for sewing.

Line up your cps and sew together. I used the mattress stitch. Stuff lightly before closing up.

Stem

Work in continuous rounds.

1. Magic circle 6 st.

2. 2 sc in each st around (12)

3. Repeat row 2 for 9 rows. Fasten off leaving a tail for sewing. Stuff and sew to the flower head.

Leaves

Make 2

Magic circle with 5 st. Increase until your circle has 30 st. Fold in half, sew half way down. I used a sc through both sides, but you need to start in the middle with the second circle so those will look uniform when you attach them to the stem.

And here is the end result! I hope you were able to follow all that gobbledygook. They may look a little different because the fire flower was free hand and the ice flower was done off the pattern I wrote.

Just an FYI; these little fellows do not stand up. Feel free to share your creations but do link back to me, please. I'd love to have your constructive criticism as well!

117 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page