top of page
  • Writer's pictureJacqueline Giordano

Dragon-scale Legwarmers


I got into watching House of the Dragon. In spite of the disappointing ending of Game of Thrones, I thought I'd give it a chance. So, now I'm thinking dragon-scales! I made my daughter some legwarmers last summer and decided to adapt this for myself in a nice sparkly black.


This is not really a pattern, more of a guide. You can adjust according to your size and yarn you choose.


You will need to know your crochet basics (ch, sl, sc, db), v-stitch and the crocodile stitch. There is more than one way to do the crocodile stitch, here is a good tutorial by B.Hooked Crochet and Knit: https://youtu.be/6BRKEfpIYmk


I used Bernat Premium Black Sparkle (3 skeins) and an H hook.





1. Chain 42 and slip stitch to make a ring (or however wide you want your legwarmer, remember multiples of 6, with 6 stitches per scale, 42 will give you 7 scales.) Use slip stitch to join at end of all rounds and ch3 to start counts as first stitch throughout.

2. Dc in each ch (42 dc)

3. Ch3, dc in same stitch, ch2, sk 2, 2dc in next stitch all around. (14 dc pairs, 14 ch2 sp)







4. Crocodile stitch over the next row. (7 scales) I did my scales 5 dc, ch1, 5 dc. I like to slip st in the alternating dc pairs to stabilize the scales.

Repeat row 2 and 3 until you get the length you want. I made 16 rows of scales.


Finishing trim

1. Ch4, dc in dc pair below (first v-stitch made), dc, ch1, dc in middle of next scale (2nd v-st made), v-st in between next 2 scales, continue around (14 v-st)

2. 2dc in each v-st around (14 dc pairs)

3. 2dc in each dc pair around.

Repeat row 3 until your desired length. I did a total of 5 rows.


And ta-daaa! The final result! Let me know how yours go!

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page