top of page
  • Writer's pictureJacqueline Giordano

Easy Spider Web

WOO HOO! I’m baaaack! A little late for Halloween, unfortunately, but that's how it goes sometimes.


I’ve been creeping around the internet looking for spiderweb patterns, and in the end decided to come up with my own. This is super easy; gauge is not important and you could make this as big or as small as you want. You will need to know the basics (chain, single, double, half-double, treble, v-stitch and slip stitch) ch, sc, dc, hdc, trc, v-st, sl


Spider web


Slip st to join rounds unless otherwise indicated. I used an alternate turning chain as my first stitch, but you could use a ch3 instead.


1. Magic circle 8 sc (or ch5 to make a circle and make row 2 into the circle)

2. dc, ch3 around (8 dc, 8 ch3sp)











3. dc, ch5 around (8 dc, 8 ch5sp)

4. dc, ch7 around (8 dc, 8 ch7sp)

5. dc, ch9 around (8 dc, 8 ch9sp)

6. dc, ch5, dc in 5th ch/or just in the middle, of ch9 sp, ch5 around (18 dc, 18 ch5sp)

7. dc, ch5 around (18 dc, 18 ch5sp)

8. dc, ch7 around (18 dc, 18 ch7sp)

9. dc, ch9 around (18 dc, 18 ch9sp)

10. dc, ch5, dc in


5th ch of ch9sp, ch5 around to last dc, ch3, trc in the first dc to join (32 dc, 32 ch5sp)

You could continue to repeat rows 6 to 10 to make an extra-large web for a wall hanging or outdoor use. I think this would look awesome in a reflective yarn.

11. sc in same space, ch5 around, ch3, trc in the first dc to join (32 ch5 loops)

12. sc in same space, 4dc, ch2, 4dc in next space, repeat around (16 chevrons)

13. sc in the back loops of all sts, sc, ch2 sc in all ch2 sps








Fasten off, or if you are feeling adventurous, continue on to make my Spider Queen Duster! Notes are available on ravelry here:

https://www.ravelry.com/projects/Syndyl/lotus-mandala-duster-2#

I could never have made it without @moralefiber pattern for Lotus Hooded Duster, which I used as a template and can be found here: https://moralefiber.blog/2017/08/04/lotus-duster-2-0/

I highly recommend you check out this free pattern and give it a try. Regina Weiss also has lots of video tutorials on YouTube. This highly talented designer has MANY free and paid patterns.


14. ch 9, sc in ch2sp, ch5, trc in sc between chevrons, join in 4ch of starting ch (32 ch5 sp)

15. dc in trc, 5dc in ch5 sp, dc in sc, 5 dc in ch5 sp, repeat around (192 dc)

16. dc, ch1, skip 1dc around (96 dc, 96 ch1sp)

17. dc around (192 dc)

18. ch3, v-st (dc, ch1, dc) every second st, repeat around, dc, ch1, slip to join (96 v-st)

19. dc in v-st, ch2, repeat around (96 dc, 96 ch2 sps)

20. dc in ch2 sp, ch2 around

21-22. repeat row 20


For arms and hood, refer to row 21 to 31 of Regina’s pattern. For hood see here: https://moralefiber.blog/2019/04/27/lotus-hood/

I did not want my hood to be so big and ruffled so, to alter this I only did chain 4’s over the hood. it helps to mark the start and end of your hood. Or, you could just do it as Regina suggests. My hood was only worked up to 10 rows before I attached it.

Trim 1. ch2, dc in sc, ch2, sc in ch6 sp, (if you opted for the less ruffled hood, over the ch4’s you will ch1, dc, ch 1) continue around

2. dc in joining, 3 dc in every ch2 sp, 1 dc in every dc and sc (over hood just 1 dc per ch1 sp)

3. ch5, skip 3


dc, sc in next, repeat around, ch3 and trc to join

4. Repeat row 3

5. 4dc, ch1, 4dc in next ch5 sp, sl in next ch5 sp, repeat around

6. In back loops, sc in each dc, sc, ch1, sc in ch1 sp, sc in next 3 dc, skipping the sl between chevrons, sc together the next two dc, sc in next 3 dc, continue around

Sleeves I worked the sleeves the same as Regina’s reg size, except I skipped 2 sc evenly so I would have only 24 dc and 24 ch1 sp. I needed an even number for the trim. Work rows the same until it reaches about an inch or so from your wrist. I worked 34 rows without sizing down my hook or adding any stitches. The arm may be straight, but it creates a slightly bell-shaped look. Then work rows 3 to six of the body trim.

Let me know how it goes! I would love to see your work. Feel free to post what you make, but please link and/or tag me and @moralefiber as well.


Hope your Halloween 2022 was awesome!

715 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page